The responsibility for a boy’s earning of awards in Cub Scouting lies with his family. Some requirements towards earning the ranks below are completed at den meetings, but most are done with you, which brings you closer together, as a result! You can sign off on your boy's requirements when you and he feel that he has done his best. As a result, the awards he earns raise his self-esteem and confidence.

Bobcat Badge

The first rank that EVERY boy earns when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank.
The basic requirements are meant to demonstrate that the boy is making a commitment to participating in the scouting program.

Wolf Cubs (2nd grade)

Wolves work on seven adventures to earn the Wolf Badge. Each requirement is designed to teach simple skills, get boys into the outdoors and initiate family
discussions on values, citizenship, health, etc.

Webelos Scouts
(4th grade)

As a Webelos Scout, a boy works to achieve the Webelos Badge, 20 activity badges and the Arrow of
Light. Your boy will be a Webelos Scout for about two years.

Tiger Cubs (1st grade)

Tiger Cubs do lots of stuff - with their adult partners. This program is intended to open up the world to inquisitive minds along with the caring guidance of adults. The first steps along the Cub Scout trail are laid here and every rank advancement through the scouting program builds on the basic categories of activity done as Tigers.

Bear Cubs (3rd grade)

Bears must complete seven adventures to earn the Bear Badge. “Adventures” are collections of themed, multidisciplinary activities full of engaging content. Much of the advancement for the Bear rank is done by the scout with his family outside of the den, similarly to the Wolf rank.

Arrow of Light (5th grade)

The highest award in Cub Scouts is earned by boys that have been active participants in their den and are ready to join a Boy Scout troop. Many of the requirements for the Arrow of Light are intended to familiarize the scout with a local troop and hopefully show him that crossing over into a troop is the next step to take in scouting. A scout that earns his Arrow of Light award has also completed many of the requirements to earn the Scout badge in the troop so he has already begun his Boy Scout trail.